National Admissions - 1800-572-5898  
International Admissions - (+91) 98540 34354

The Assam Kaziranga University

National - 1800-572-5898
  International -(+91)98540 34354

The Assam Kaziranga University


Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav organized by the School of Engineering & Technology, The Assam Kaziranga University on 12th March 2021

15 Mar, 2021


A symposium was organized by the School of Engineering & Technology, The Assam Kaziranga University on 12th March 2021 in the university auditorium from 2:30 to 4:00 pm as per a request from AICTE to mark the celebration of 75 years of Indian Independence as “Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav”. The event began with the lighting of the lamp ceremony by the Chief Guest, Dr Soumitra Puzari, Associate Professor of History, Jorhat College; Dr Diganta Munshi, Registrar-KU; Dr PG Ramesh, Dean-SET; Dr Sarojakshaya Chatterjee, Dean-SOB; Dr Rupakjyoti Boruah, Dean-SSS; Dr Debasish Panda, COE-KU;

Dr Suryakanta Swain, Associate Dean-SHS, and Mr Boby Roy, Dean-Admisions.

The welcome address was delivered by Dr. PG Ramesh. In his address, he highlighted the cause behind the celebration of ‘Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav’. He stressed that as far as foreign domination of India is concerned, history should not repeat itself.
Dr Diganta Munshi, Registrar, in his precise speech dealt with the significance of the Indian Freedom struggle and the great contributions made by the Indian freedom fighters to build a modern India.

This was followed by a formal felicitation of the Chief Guest, Dr. Soumitra Puzari with a traditional gamosa and a memento by the Registrar and Dean- SET. The hour-long speech talk by Dr. Soumitra Puzari was full of untold history and the reasons behind the foreign domination of India. He stressed that the lessons from our history should lead us to develop ourselves in such a manner that we are regarded with honour and praise as Indians in future.

In connection with the event, an intra-university essay competition prior to the symposium was also organized. Within a very short span of time, 14 essays were submitted out of which three best essayists were awarded by the Chief Guest with trophies and certificates. The essays were evaluated bya a panel formed within the university. The event concluded with a vote of thanks proposed by Mr Rajib Saha, Language Lab Supervisor, SET.