National Admissions - 1800-572-5898  (+91) 91270 56383
International Admissions - (+91) 98540 34354

The Assam Kaziranga University

National - 1800-572-5898 or (+91) 91270 56383
  International -(+91)98540 34354

The Assam Kaziranga University

International Women’s Day 2017

09 Mar, 2017

On 8th March, 2017 (Wednesday), School of Social Sciences in Collaboration with Women’s Cell – ‘Bihanga’, The Assam Kaziranga University celebrated International Women’s Day. The primary events of the day included a Debate Competition, a Panel Discussion and a Cultural Programme. The occasion was graced by the presence of Mr. Subhasish Sharma (Associate Professor, Dept. of Political Science, J.B. College, Jorhat), Dr. Surajit Sharma (H.O.D., Dept. of English, J.B. College, Jorhat) and Ms. Saba Anish (Assistant Professor, Dept. of English, J.B. College, Jorhat) who were invited as Judges for the Debate Competition and as panel members for the panel discussion as well. Prof. Prana Hari Talukdar (Mentor Professor, School of Social Sciences and School of Computing Sciences, Kaziranga University) attended the event as Speaker for the Debate competition and moderator for the Panel Discussion. Mr. Ramesh Agarwal and the Registrar, Kaziranga University, Dr. Debasish Panda also graced the event. The day long programme held in the University Auditorium began with auspicious lighting of the lamp by the present dignatories along with Professor B.N. Borthakur, Dean School of Social Sciences, Kaziranga University. Prof. Borthakur in his welcome address highlighted the increasing incidences of violance against women throughout the globe in the last 4-5 decades. The gender biased violance reflects the ideology of patriarchy. In view of this Prof. Borthakur stated that there would be no better topic to debate other than the one articulated by the organisers i.e. “Male hegemony, even in the 21st century, is mainly responsible for the violance against women”. This was followed by felicitation of the invited guests. After the felicitation, the debate competition commenced in which a total of 30 participants took part. The participants came from 14 different academic institutions from Jorhat, Golaghat and Sibasagar Districts. 15 participants argued for and the other 15 argued against the motion. The Debate Competiton was followed by the panel discussion. The panelists highlighted on the issue of violence against women in our society along with the theoretical perspectives useful to understand and explain them. After lunch the programme continued, beginning with the Prize Distribution Ceremony. Ms. Saba Anish announced the names of the winners of the Debate Competition. Mr. Abhishek Kabra form J.B. College won the first prize. Yajurved Rajkhowa Baruah from D.R. College and Lopamudra Bhradwaj of Jorhat College secured the second and third prize respectively. The judges Dr. Surajit Sharma, Mr. Subhasish Sharma and Ms. Saba Anish gave away the first, second and third prize respectively. The prize distribution ceremony was followed by the cultural programme. The programme was organised by the students of Kaziranga University. The programme included two skit performances; one by the KU students and the other by the children from Hopeline, an NGO that works for rescuing the children in distress. Other programmes included singing and dance performences along with the screening of a vedio prepared by the students highlighting the achievements of various women around the world who made a difference. The programme ended with the vote of thanks which was offered by Ms. Ahbilasha Saikia, Student of Bachalor of Social Work, Kaziranga University.